Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Gris Grimly's Frankenstein


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine which spotlights eagerly anticipated upcoming releases!

I like Mary Shelley's classic well enough, but what has me really eager for a re-read of Frankenstein is the artwork of Gris Grimly. I absolutely love Grimly's twisted, oddball art and I can't wait to have this on my bookshelves!

Gris Grimlys Frankenstein Cover Title: Gris Grimly's Frankenstein
Author: Mary Shelley
Illustrator: Gris Grimly
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Release Date: August 27, 2013

Book Description (from Amazon):

Gris Grimly's Frankenstein is a twisted, fresh, and utterly original full-length, full-color graphic-novel adaptation of Mary Shelley's original text, brought to life by acclaimed illustrator Gris Grimly.

This is the first fully illustrated version to use the original 1818 text and is destined to capture the imagination of those new to the story as well as those who know it well.

New York Times bestselling illustrator Gris Grimly has long considered Frankenstein to be one of his chief inspirations. From the bones and flesh of the original, he has cut and stitched Mary Shelley's text to his own artwork, creating something entirely new: a stunningly original remix, both classic and contemporary, sinister and seductive, heart-stopping and heartbreaking.

Perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe and Neil Gaiman's Coraline.

2 comments:

Sofia R. said...

No way!! Sounds incredible! Frankenstein is one my favourite books, so I really need to have this. Thanks for sharing! Perfect pick :)

Natalie Natflixandbooks said...

Oh, cool. I'm not familiar with his work, but this sounds awesome. I'll definitely keep my eye out for it. Great pick!
Natflix&Books' WoW